Monday, January 24, 2011

IFRA 30 Years Celebration Football Tournament

IFRA 30 Years Celebration Football Tournament
AVC, Goa Boys move ahead

The inaugural matches of the Indian Football Referees Association (IFRA’s) 30th year celebration tournament held on Friday, 21 January 2011 at the artificial turf Baladayi Grounds, Salmiya, Kuwait. The tournament was declared open by Kuwait’s popular social worker Gaspar Almeida who was called in as the chief guest in recognition of his long-standing support and dedication towards the promotion of football, sports and cultural activities in Kuwait among the Indian community. Before the commencement of the matches, a minute silence at the referees whistle was observed in memory of Joaquim Pillay (Jackie) who played for DHL Team as a goal-keeper and left for his heavenly abode that same afternoon in Goa following a tragic accident and also in fond rememberance of a young talented Konkani stage artistes Rosary Ferns who died on 12th January. The first match between AVC and Rawda Challengers had the full time score decided at 3 goals to one in favour of AVC. Malvy Fernandes, Kevin Vaz and Majed scored in the 7th, 44th and 50th minutes while Rawda Challengers through Abbas Kallingal managed to score for his team in the 53rd minute. AVC’s Malvy Fernandes was declared the man of the match. Interestingly the sponsors of the IFRA tournament the popular Salem Al Mubarak based “Sports Mania” in Salmiya has been graciously generous to present an individual award for all the 16 matches of the tournament to 16 promising footballers. The line-up of AVC had among its teams the likes of Brauhio Rodrigues, Vincy Pereira, Custodio Castana, Francisco Fernandes, Ronnie Fernandes, Kevin Vaz, Francisco Rodrigues, Majed, Malvy Fernandes, Anthony Rodrigues and Nicolas Fernandes with substitutes: Peter Crasto and Alvaro Dias. The Rawda Challengers gave a good fight, but were unsuccessful in their few attempts to net the ball. The Rawda Challengers team comprised of Bineesh Pathyil, Joaquim Xavier Rebello, Shafi Kalathi, Rajesh Gopal, 08 Mujeeb Nandiparombil (Haroon Rashed Melepoolamannil, Sakkeer Plakootayil, Noushad Veettvanchery (Faisal Kampakkayalappil), Abbas Kallingal, Ubad Bava Panchili (Firosghon Nadathalath), Rafeeq Panampurdkkol, and Alfred Fernandes with substitutes: Haroon Rashed Melepoolamannil, Firosghon Nadathalath, and Faisal Kampakkayalappil. A large crowd of spectators had a good feel of the match with live commentary by a young Indian, with DJ music to keep the tempo. The matches were officiated by the IFRA referee John Philip Ferrao, and ably assisted by Dayanand Sharma, Yusuf Mubarak, and the fourth Official: Jose Cajetan Afonso. The ball possession was AVC 60% and Rawda Challengers 40% while attempts on target recorded was AVC 5 and Rwda Challengers 3. Attempts that went off target for AVC 3 and Rawda Challengers 2. Corners: AVC 4, Rawda Challengers 3. Fouls were AVC 3, and Rawda Challengers 5. Overall the inaugural match was enjoyable and satisfied the die-hard football lovers who braved the strong and chilly winds of the evening. The second Game between Goa Boys and Veterans United interestingly displayed good team work and end goalless at half time. In the 47th minute of the second half, Martin Gomes got the first goal of the match, and in the following eleventh minutes, Mingal Fernandes took the score to 2:0. IFRA’s senior officials had a tough time to declare the man of the match award and finally had to decide upon Martin Gomes. The line up for GOA Boys included Malvin Fernandes, Martin Gomes, Sebasteao Oliveiro, Teo Fernandes, Godwin Fernandes, G. Kumar Ramesh, Xavier Costa (Christy Manzies), Hemant Kumar, Mingal Fernandes, Somin Goakar, and Alfred Pires. The Veterans United captained by Bernaldo Fernandes had on its side Merwyn Fernandes, Edward Dias (Damodar), Anthony F. Furtado, Dhuvesh Naik, Bernard Fernandes (Kevin), Steven Fernandes (Desmond Vaz), Colin Figueria, Stephen Fernandes, Adolf D'Souza and Michael Godinho. The match officials were IFRA Referee C.O. John, Assistant Referees Milagris Baretto and Alvaro Dias with the fourth official as Jose Cajetan Afonso. The statistics for the match were: Ball Possession: GOA Boys 52% versus Veterans United 48% while the attempts on targets were GOA Boys 4 and Veterans United 3. Attempts off target were recorded as GOA Boys 2, with Veterans United 3 and corner kicks awarded were GOA Boys 2 and Veterans United 3. With discipline as the main focus of this IFRA’s 30th anniversary celebratory tournament, Fouls booked for GOA Boys 4 and Veterans United 3. . The competition is organized under the slogan "Football for Friendship and Coexistence". Over the last three decades, IFRA has been instrumental in promoting football in Kuwait and have officiated matches for various nationalities football tournaments and festivals. Founded on 5th December 1980 by founder members Late J.P. D’Mello (FIFA Referee), A.E. D’Souza, Junnifer Rodrigues, (Sheikh) Agnelo Fernandes, Peter Monteiro, Domnic Monserate and Tony Gonsalves. Late J.D. D’Mello was also the founder of Kuwait Indian Football Federation, in whose member the KIFF League in conducted. Among the active IFRA members include Sarto Baptista (President), C.O. John, Richard Anthony, Diago Rebello, Milagris Crasto, Julio Cardoso, Tony D’Costa, Philip Ferrao, Midas Fernandes, D. Sharma, Tiago Fernandes, Alvaro Dias, Francisco Fernandes, Vincy Pereira, Micheal Dias, Yusuf Mubarak, Simon Anthony, Godfrey Aguair, Molvit Mascarehas, Thomas Carvalho, Stephen D’Souza, Christopher Fernandes, and Milagris Baretto. The Draw held at Don Bosco (IEAS) premises was well attended by representatives and managers of the participating teams and was ably conducted by Christopher Fernandes and Sarto Baptista. IFRA conducts regular classes for new recruits and refresher classes for active Members, thereby keeping abreast of the latest FIFA rules and regulations and presents video and personal coaching updates with slide and video presentations as well as providing FIFA literature and material to their members. Football lovers will witness a display of sportsman spirit and enjoyable matches during the entire tournament. The participating teams to be looked forward to, apart from those who have now moved to the next position, are: Goa Maroons, Fahaheel Brothers, DHL Express, Q8 Lanka United, Rising Stars, St. Anthony Colva, Thai XI, Bangladesh XI, Indian Strikers, Hawalli Boys, Don Bosco Oratory and Real Betalbatim. Prizes include Winners Team Trophy + Individual Trophies, Runners-Up Team Trophy + Individual Trophies, 3rd and 4th Places Teams Trophies + individual Gifts, in addition to other Surprises. The next tournament matches scheduled for January 28, 2011 are: Indian Strikers v/s Hawalli Boys at 3:00 p.m. and the second match between DHL Express and Q8 Lanka United will have all the ingredients to be a not-to-be-missed affair. The matches commences sharp at 3:00 p.m. and continue in flood lights through the evening. For more info, please call Sarto Baptista Tel: 99774635 and or Chris Fernandes Tel: 99738635 Email:

[Photos attached].

No comments:

Post a Comment